Home | Mobile | E-Mail Us | Privacy | Mtn Bike | Ride Director Login | Add Century/Benefit Rides
San Francisco ’s Phipps Breaks Away in Twilight Race Series

at Infineon Raceway

SONOMA , Calif. ( May 4, 2007 ) – San Francisco ’s Christopher Phipps took his second victory of the season on Thursday in the third round of the Infineon Raceway Spring Twilight Cycling Series. Phipps broke away from the pack on the final lap of the six-lap race to take the win over Mountain View ’s Jimmy Miller in the A Group.

“I love racing on this road course as I seem to do well with the hills,” said Phipps, who has won four of five races at Infineon Raceway. “My teammates and I were hoping to do a team breakaway, but with the wet conditions, I decided to really push from the beginning.”

More than 50 cyclists competed for more than $300 in cash during the Thursday evening twilight race on the 12-turn, 2.52 mile road course.

Other overall winners included Daly City ’s Eric Ryba (B Group), Mill Valley ’s Anna Davenport (Women’s Group) and Petaluma ’s Ethan Weiss (Juniors). The victories marked the first at Infineon Raceway for each of these riders.

The fourth and final round of the Spring Twilight Race Series will be on Thursday, May 10, at Infineon Raceway. More than $2,500 in cash and prizes will be awarded throughout the Spring and Summer Series. Gates open at 5 p.m. , with registration at 5:15 p.m. , and the race starting at 6:30 p.m. Cost is $15 per competitor. Juniors 18 and under ride for free.

The Summer Twilight Race Series begins September 6 and will run for four consecutive Thursdays on the Sonoma Valley road course.

For more information, visit www.infineonracewaycycling.com or call 800-870-RACE.


Spring Twilight Race Series

Infineon Raceway

12-turn, 2.52-mile course

A Race (6 laps)

  1. Christopher Phipps (Z Team, San Francisco )
  2. Jimmy Miler ( Mountain View )
  3. Tim Farnham ( Nebraska Medical, Petaluma )
  4. Joshua Litwack (Dewars Racing, Kentfield)
  5. Peter Nicholson (Eastside Cycles, Petaluma )
  6. Aaron Gallardo (Teamspine, Ross)
  7. Brian Bauer (Organic Athlete, Sebastopol )
  8. Jeff Baptista (Z Team, Sonoma )

B Race (6 laps)

  1. Eric Ryba (Z Team, Daly City )
  2. Joshua Carling (Pacific State Bank/Anderson Homes, Rancho Cordova )
  3. Hunter Ziesing (Z Team, Tiburon)
  4. Chris Carscadden (Pegasus, Concord )
  5. Andrew Demas ( Third Pillar, Los Altos )
  6. Mark Volkmann (Unattached, San Anselmo)
  7. Ian Roth (Z Team, San Anselmo)
  8. Doug McKenzie (Fightin’ Bobas, Santa Rosa )
  9. Richard Gonsalves (Unattached, Walnut Creek)
  10. Jason Clymer (Soulcraft, Petaluma )

Women’s Division (6laps)

  1. Anna Davenport (Ultimate Fitness/Village Peddler, Mill Valley )
  2. Sarah Miller (Metromint Cycling, Santa Rosa )

Junior’s Division (6 laps)

  1. Ethan Weiss (Team Swift, Petaluma )
  2. Nicholas Kinney (Team Swift, Windsor)
  3. Ryan Eastman (Team Swift, Petaluma )
  4. Julian Bauer (Team Swift, Sebastopol )
  5. Cole Roth (Z Team, San Anselmo)
  6. Christian Villasana (Team Swift, Hercules)


View All

View All

Bike Sites

Bike Reviews

Current Column
All Columns
About Bill

Current Column
All Columns

About Naomi

© BikeCal.com 2010